(Not) Looking Back

I used to thrive in nostalgia, but it always seemed to choke me.  There’s just something about reminiscing that would turn my stomach at the last moment, leaving me feeling sort of empty.  The more pages I turn, the wider my history, yet the more of it I’d rather not read.

I’ve given up a lot of things, but in a similar manner to pulling thorns out of my sides and putting down my own knives.  Holding onto the “good old days” is often a poison, and one I can surely not afford, because in all truth and honesty, it gets better.

Luke 17:32-33 Remember Lot’s wife! Whoever tries to keep their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life will preserve it.

In studying such a painful story, I’ve come to see, my life surely doesn’t belong to me.  Yet, it’s better this way, and I couldn’t be happier.  How could I return, what could I now long after?  I’m grateful for change because change offers hope.  Living the same is much like living alone.  When you’re comfortable, eventually it all grows dull, and I couldn’t live like that because the greed in our eyes will never feel full.

And so this is why I love to give it all.

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

