Rainfall

Psalm 147:8 He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills.

If you’ve known me for any length of time, you’ve probably discovered that rain is one of my absolute favorite things on this earth.  However, as I now live in Long Beach, California, rain has become a rare luxury.

DSCN3991

Strange as it is, I’ve had several days where I just prayed about it, telling God how much I miss the rain.  Perhaps it comes from the long mornings on the Gilroy’s porch in Costa Rica, watching the rain fall as I poured out my confusion to God, it’s something special to me.  Regardless of why, something spectacular happened today.

As I woke up, I heard the familiar sound of rain pattering on the roof.  At first I didn’t believe it, but with a childish hope in my heart, I ran to the door.  Sure enough, there was a steady pour of rain to greet me this morning.  Nothing could hold me back from running into the rain and spending my morning prayer walk in it.  I’m ever so grateful for the little things, my God loves me so much that He made it rain.  When I found shelter underneath one of the trees outside our apartment, I recalled my prayers and hope for rain with a smile.

My God, why do I ever doubt?

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

