Still the Seas

Psalm 89:9 You rule over the surging sea; when its waves mount up, you still them.

“Come with me,”  He gently touched my hand.  “Leave it all behind and follow me.”
“Will it be an adventure?”  I asked, looking out to the water.
“Yes.”  He smiled, waiting on me to get in the boat.
I started to look back at the land, but His eyes stopped me.  “Then I’m coming.”  I giggled and took his hand.

On the waters, a storm raged up.  Wind whipped against our sail, waves knocked supplies off of the boat left and right.  Some of the others abandoned ship, the rest of us clung tightly to the hull.  I wanted to cry, but the salt stung my eyes.  Finally, I lost my resolve and I cried out to Him.  “Why aren’t you stopping the storm?  I know it would listen to your voice!”
He came up from below deck, and with one word, the waves and wind stilled.
“Would you rather wander in calm waters, or let the storm take you forward?”  He looked at me, just waiting for my answer.
I felt ashamed.  No one had lost to the storm except those that abandoned ship, how could I doubt His choice in letting the storm go?  Tears welled up and I ran to embrace Him, apologizing over and over.
He looked down on me lovingly and said, “Your faith is small, but it will grow, child.”
I smiled and looked up to Him through my tears.  “I’ll take the storm, I trust you to still the seas.”
He looked out over the water, “You will face many more storms as well as calm seas.  Be prepared for all seasons, for you will need to catch fish in the storm as well as in the calm.”
I looked to our catch.  During the storm, fish had practically been jumping out of the water and onto the boat, but now that it was calm, there wasn’t one to be seen in the water nearby.

When we reached the opposite shore, He stepped off the boat.  I started to follow Him, but He turned to me, “Child, stay with the boat.  There are more fish to catch, you can follow me when you have finished my work.”
I fought back tears.  “No, please, don’t leave me here.  I want to go with You now!”
He smiled.  “I will be with you to the very end of this journey, always.”
“I love you.”  I reached out to Him.
“Then finish my work, and know that I love you.”

~Tori Lynn

2 thoughts on “Still the Seas

  1. Sandra Ellis says:

    Tori, did you write this? It is beautiful.

    Looking forward to seeing you and touching you soon.

    Love, Nonny

    Sandra Ellis

    (919) 612-3786

Leave a Reply

