Mommy

Happy Mothers Day!


576595_10201332332420529_1946213842_n

Mommy, where do I even begin?  You’ve been there for me as long as I can remember, and I put up the greatest of fights my whole life.  Being the first child, I was the test run in many ways, yet you somehow still made it through having such a difficult first child.

I know it’s hard, that I’m not there this mother’s day, but I miss you tons.

I don’t know how you did it, to be honest.  I must have been a mess to push through all twelve years of school at home.  Thank you for always standing there by my side.  I do wish I had listened more, I don’t know why I thought I had to figure it all out on my own.  Had you not chosen to homeschool me, I know I would have found myself in a lot of needless trouble, and I wouldn’t be who I am today, not at all.  Thank you, for loving me when I made it so hard, for pushing me when I wanted to drag my feet, for teaching me when you knew I wasn’t listening, for everything.

I remember the thousands of shopping trips to Home Depot and Lowe’s when Alix and I were kids.  Now that I’m working at Sears, I’m beginning to realize how much all of that really had an impact on me.  I miss our beach trips, our random movie nights when Daddy and Alix were gone.  I remember one night at Emerald Isle when we got Ben & Jerry’s and watched Lilo and Stitch for the first time while Alix and Daddy were fishing…  It was a random memory, but it’s a special one.

I mean, what other mom would drive her daughter all the way from Youngsville to Atlanta just for a concert (and a load of free pop-tarts)?  It was a special adventure indeed.  I want to show you around my first apartment, the city I’ve ended up in, I want to share this new adventure with you, but I know you’re a mother to the other three as well, and if that means I have to wait a while longer, so be it.  Just know that you can always come visit me too, okay?  ❤

It’s not easy to be a mother.  I’m starting to get it, but you did all that you could, and you still are.  I’ve had one of the most unique experiences growing up that I’ve ever heard of, but you made it great.  Not many kids get to grow up at a camp, or spend entire summers at the beach going from island to island.  You always have supported my writing and tried to help me be the best that I can.  I know it’s scary, having your oldest move out, and across the country no less, but yet you’ve handled it, still raising the younger ones too.

For all the times you tried to teach me about make-up and cooking, and I refused to listen, well, I’m finally learning now, ha.  You’ve been the best mother I could have asked for.  I love you so much.  I know this isn’t like getting flowers, chocolate, or even a little cup of coffee, especially not like me actually being there, but I hope it means something.

~Tori Lynn

One thought on “Mommy

  1. gcwallace@nc.rr.com says:

    This was very good Tori. She will love it!

Leave a Reply

