One

Ephesians 4:3-6 Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.  There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called;  one Lord, one faith, one baptism;  one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

While there is much to say about all of this- my focus is on the body.  A sick day provides much time to think, pray and read.  While studying out relationships, I’ve stumbled over a principle I can’t recall ever not knowing.  However, for the first time I think I really connected with the idea.

Romans 12:5 so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

Honestly, it brings me back to the days I used to self-harm.  When I was a child and teenager, I frequently cut my skin to supposedly relieve or justify the pain in my heart.  While it brought my heart relief, I deeply injured my skin, leaving some scars to this day.  Looking back, it pains me to imagine that others are still doing this.  A friend helped me see the true uselessness of it, but we still miss it everyday in the body of Christ.

As my hands acted on behalf of my heart and hurt other parts of my body, so we often lash out on other brothers and sisters because of our own pain, or the pain of others.  My heart is cut, this is not the way we should act, but as those chosen and dearly loved.

1 Corinthians 12:26 If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.

We don’t have to injure one another in order to understand, but let us love one another deeply from the heart.  Now, I strive to do just this.

What are we, if we are not one?

~Tori Lynn

One thought on “One

  1. Sandra Ellis says:

    Love you darling and miss you tremendously….we don’t feel as “one” without you here…

Leave a Reply

