Safe On Your Lips

Have you ever had someone in your life, that when they said your name it somehow made your day that much better, or simply made you feel good about life in general?
I’ve thought about it quite a bit, and I’d have to admit there are many people that fit this for me.
It’s hard to trust people with your name, though we give it out so often, have you ever thought about how people may use it?  What may bring them to put your name in their lips?  Is it safe there?  I know I’ve heard people use my name in a way that hurt, in a way that made me wish they didn’t know it.
However, if I’m truly honest- that has little to do with what’s on my mind at the moment.  I used to dwell on this a lot, fearful of those I didn’t trust with it, listening for it from those I trusted.
What really has entered my thoughts, is the name above all names, and I find myself wondering if His name is safe on my lips.  As scary as it is, to think your own name may not be safe on someone’s lips, how terrible a thing for such a great name to be on deceitful lips, for my own to be that way.  I wonder how He thinks of it too.
Obviously, from Exodus 20:7 You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.
He does care how people use it, I mean, I’ve heard that passage since as long as I can remember.  However, it only seemed to correct me from using it as a swear word, until more recently.
What are we afraid of people doing with our names?  How can people use them in ways that hurt?  Twisting who we are, making up things we say?  Or even claiming to associate with us when they really hate our guts, or have even abused us.
What does that say about His name on our lips, though?  As I’m writing this, I find myself wondering if His name is safe on my lips, is it safe on yours?
Psalm 29:2 Give unto the Lord the glory due unto his name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.
When you’re in love, do you not treasure the name of said significant other?  Doesn’t their name light up your day, aren’t you careful with how it sounds in your mouth?  Then why should we do any less for the One who loves us more than we could ever begin to love Him back?
Psalm 9:10 Those who know your name trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.
 ~Tori Lynn
2 thoughts on “Safe On Your Lips

  1. Sandra Ellis says:

    Tori, this is very heart searching…thank you for the reminder to be careful what we say. I love yo, darling. Nonny

  2. Aarik Duncan says:

    Seriously thought provoking… Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

