Free!

freeswimming

Over Christmas break, I had the joy of finishing a lovely anime known affectionately as “That Swimming Anime” or “Free! Iwatobi Swim Club.”

Throughout the entire season, I found myself not only amazed by the accurate depiction of swimming and water, but the dynamics of a swim team.  Ever since I started it, I’ve wanted to pick swimming back up, not only by myself, but somehow with others, a team, even.  Because there’s nothing quite like finishing a relay together.

“It’s not freedom, it’s freestyle.”

This quote from Haru really got to me in a way I can’t explain.  As being underwater is the place where I feel most free, I could relate to Haru-chan’s love for water.  Not only that, though, but a way of living.  Being free, for which I am ever thankful.

As the last screen of the anime showed up, I felt much like parting with dear friends.  However, as with dear friends, I learned a great deal from this gem of an anime.  In effect, I want to remember to live; not only “Free!” but also “For the Team.”

(Also, I learned that Wednesday aka the day each episode aired translated literally as Water day, hence, see you next water time.  Heh.)

972bd4c31e4e1354cbffc073b02172ae1380139714_full

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

