Humility

I never want to forget where I came from,

The place from which I was delivered,

The state from which I’ve come.

 

I never wish to forsake this grace,

What has been freely given,

I could never have deserved this place.

 

1 Corinthians 1:26-29

Brothers and sisters, think of what you were when you were called.  Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth.  But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.  God chose the lowly things of the world and the despised things – and the things that are not – to nullify the things that are, so that no one may boast before him.

I am ever perplexed and confounded by this life and how it is lived. In essence, I find myself only just now beginning to fit into the place for which I am still being and have been formed. The dirt which was lathed onto me previously has become loose and begun sliding away and in its place a firm foundation has been built. Even still, as each layer is placed upon later, I find myself drastically different but still not quite there. Who am I becoming? How do You plan to form this new creation? I see it starting to come together and yet I know you’ve barely begun. Mold me as You will, work out the limos. I pray you do not become frustrated with me and smash me to begin all over again. Teach me not to resist Your refinements, even when I can’t see what You’re doing through them. For who am I, compared to You? I have no standing on my own and You stand above us all.

 

Isaiah 59:9-11 So justice is far from us, and righteousness does not reach us.

We look for light, but all is darkness; for brightness, but we walk in deep shadows.

Like the blind we grope along the wall, feeling our way like people without eyes.

At midday we stumble as if it were twilight; among the strong, we are like the dead.

We all growl like bears; we moan mournfully like doves.

We look for justice, but find none; for deliverance, but it is far away.

~Tori Lynn

One thought on “Humility

  1. Sandra Ellis says:

    Love you Tori and looking forward to seeing you next week…Love you; Nonny…

Leave a Reply

