“Let’s just stare at that mountain.”

“Nice mountain, it doesn’t move, it just stands there so majestic and all still-like.”

In the insanity of the past month, I’ve found myself recalling my adventures in Montana last September.  One particular day, we went to a playground of sorts to train and have a good time.  Near the end of our stay, we found one of the ancient spinning things which I can’t recall the name of.  Of course, we tried it out.  After much dizziness, yelling, and laughter, Nicholas and I sort of stumbled to the ground.

It felt awful.  Sure, the spinning itself was incredibly fun, but once we collapsed to the ground it didn’t feel so fun anymore.  The world was literally turning and I couldn’t seem to find the ground, my head was still spinning and it felt sort of numb.  I couldn’t hardly stand to look at anything moving, so in jest, we turned to the mountain in all it’s majestic stillness.

In all truth and honesty, it helped.  It was genuinely surprising as to how much staring at the rock formation helped calm our spinning minds, but it did.

SpinningDSC05658

 

In a strange and wonderful way, that’s sort of how it is with God.  As we toil through life and all it’s challenges, we found ourselves trapped in a numb state of confusion, but if we look to Him, He’s always there.  Always.  Still and ever-unchanging.  And that knowledge alone helps oh so very much.

Right now it feels like my life is spinning in a thousand directions and even with my feet on the ground, I don’t exactly feel like I’m standing.  But He is ever present, and as I focus on Him, I find everything else clearing up and my steps not faltering so much.  As I marvel at His majestic glory, I don’t feel so sick about everything else that refuses to stop changing.

So let’s stare at the Mountain, our solid Rock and Foundation.  For He has promised to come again and He never fails us.  I mean, with all this uncertainty spinning around, it’s rather amazing to realize that we CAN be certain of Him.

Keep your focus in the right place, as hard as it is it will be worth it.

1 Thessalonians 4:15-18 According to the Lord’s word, we tell you that we who are still alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. Therefore encourage one another with these words.

~Tori Lynn

One thought on ““Let’s just stare at that mountain.”

  1. Nonny says:

    Hi Tori….see this antique playground equipment….

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roundabout_(play)

    I remember playing on one when I was in 1st grade…now, is that an antique?

Leave a Reply

