Ouran High School Host Club

“And remember, whenever you care a lot for someone Hikaru, it’s important you pay attention to any subtle little hints they drop.” ~Kaoru Hitachiin

After seeing it in my recommendations list, I decided to give Ouran Host Club a shot.  I didn’t really know what to expect and it gave a really strange first impression, but something about it drew my attention and we continued through the whole series.

As we pushed through some of the weirdness, I found myself falling in love with each one of the characters and the anime itself over time.  It really showcased getting to know people, for me.  Though they’re often going to come off as obscure (and they often are), there’s so much more to them than that.  Everyone has their quirks and shells, most people live their lives trying to fill the mold of a certain character type, but there’s so much more to people than that.  There’s so much more to life than what you can imagine.

The contrast between the rich and commoner situations was portrayed in such a way that constantly left me in fits of laughter.  If you just watch one or two episodes, you won’t understand why I loved it so much, it’s one of those you really have to stick it through to see the beauty of it, but once you do, blimey…

One of my favorite episodes was the 21st, “Until the Day it Becomes a Pumpkin.”  Kaoru’s spell on the carriage thought process really touched me on a personal level with how things are going about now.  Sometimes that’s how we cope with life, pretend like it’s gonna be like this forever, when in all truth and honesty, we know each chapter will indeed close.  But until then, we can thrive in it, make the most of it… And that’s what makes each chapter so lovely.

ouranhostclub

To be entirely honest, I almost cried at the end of it all, I hated letting go of all the characters.  After 26 episodes, it’s almost like watching dear friends leave your life, knowing they’ll never return again, though you can rewatch all the old memories as much as you want to, there will never be more.

If you enjoy animes I would certainly reccomend it.  It’s like making friends, you see everyone in their finest shells, and then at their worst, and as you stick through everything with them, you get to see the loveliness of who they are.

~Tori Lynn

 

Leave a Reply

