Fruits Basket

My sister and I recently finished the anime “Fruits Basket” (aka Furuba.)  It’s only within the past couple of years that I started watching anime, and this one has to be the most touching one I’ve seen yet, my favorite by far.  Perhaps it’s because not only did it make me laugh, but it also made me cry.

As a writer myself, I know that there are many types of story-telling, each beautiful and difficult in it’s own way.  I could never write anime myself, for I could never draw well enough, or capture the images of my characters on paper or screen, but the art of it is quite a gorgeous one.  It can be light and playful and it can be dark and menacing, it can fill you with hope and tear your heart out.

In the seemingly childish way of story-telling through animation, it has the opportunity to reach us on that level of simplicity.  To a child, things penetrate more quickly.  I’ve begun to realize, there is a balance.  We must grow up, but we must not lose the childlike faith in truth and love.

Fruits Basket opened my heart to things I had already been curiously seeking, as a good story does.  The characters were astoundingly real and lovable, even through their obvious flaws.  I found myself drawn to each character in a different way, there was so much to them that even at the end of the anime still remained secret, but I could tell it was there.

People have flaws, to deny that would only harm them even more, but that doesn’t mean they should not be loved.  Even the hardest of hearts can be softened with love.  Everyone has a story, you cannot fully understand another’s story, but that does not mean you shouldn’t try.  The broken heart selfishly longs to remain infected, to cling onto the bliss it imagined before it was wounded, but it can still be healed.  It is quite a difficult task to be willing to bear even the worst of memories, but one day, if you continue with them, they will be worth something.  You can still care for someone whom you disagree with, no matter hard it may be.  You don’t have to fit in everywhere to belong somewhere, and often where you belong is who you belong with more than a place.  Even seemingly by chance, you can alter someone’s life entirely.  Sometimes, to love means that you won’t understand, but you still want to be around someone.  It is possible to forgive and move on, even if the one who hurt you never acknowledges you again.  People who were not loved when they needed it will act strange, they don’t mean to be strange, but they don’t know how to not be.

Ah, I could go on about it for a very long time, but I will end here.  There is beauty in every story and there is also pain, but the beauty is worth string through the pain.  There is something unique and beautiful about every person, even those difficult to be around and if you stick by them you may come to know that unique quality about them, and you may grow to love it.  Knowing a person is an immense blessing.

“Sometimes living can be hard, but it’s only because we’re alive that we can make each other…laugh, cry…be happy!” ~Tohru Honda

“Because even the smallest of words can be the ones to hurt you, or save you.” ~Yuki Sohma

“Maybe I’m not perfect. Maybe I have a long way to go. But someday… someday I’ll be able to stand and walk on my own. Without hurting anyone… and without being a burden.” ~Kyo Sohma

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

