Embers

“There were days where each hour was a war I fought to survive, there were nights full of nightmares and I dreaded closing my eyes” -Embers ~Owl City

"Every push, every shove, every war, every love, yeah the coals are beginning to glow.

“Every push, every shove, every war, every love, yeah the coals are beginning to glow.”

On and off throughout the past few months this song has found it’s way into my heart in such a way that it plays in the back of my mind amid the silence. Though the whole song is incredibly precious to me, that line up there really touched me, because I remember being there. I remember it every day, through every smile I remember the time that came before it, but that doesn’t make me bitter. In fact, it’s the pain and trials that have brought me to where I am and where I’m going that makes it all so lovely to me. If you haven’t heard the song, of you’ve never really listened to it intently, I offer it as a grand suggestion.

There are the darkest of days, and then there are those that glow with a fierce joy that cannot be silenced. Revel in that joy and don’t let it fade away.

When I watch a fire, something in my heart warms up. The pure energy of it passes through my veins and I feel it. There’s something exceedingly beautiful about it, and certain memories flood my mind when I sit by it, new ones are made and it fills me with hope.

“It gets better, just don’t let the fire die.” -Embers ~Owl City

And in this instance, I couldn’t say anything better than that, so push on and press forward in the dark of the night for there is so much more out there. You are not alone.

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

