Observing with Vigilance

20120529-230710.jpg

After my first day working as a lifeguard, I realized a few things. Each lesson I learned in the class had less to do with knowing the content itself and more to do with those things becoming second nature. Being on the stand was an interesting experience for me, my dad having been the head guard a few years ago. I recall watching the lifeguards when I was younger, now I am one. One quality people notice in me is my unusual level of observance. I don’t notice everything, however I notice a whole lot more than most people, especially since I tend to do more listening and watching than actually speaking. It was astounding to me, the things I picked up on in my few hours on the guard my first day.

Perhaps, the lessons I learned in life leading up to these moments were just as vital as the class I had to take to officially be considered a lifeguard.

When you observe vigilantly, you don’t miss things, you prepare mentally for possible situations and prepare to act. These are among the many things I am learning. I am dearly excited for the continuous lessons I will be learning and what Papi will have me do with them..

Lifeguards are to be observant vigilantly so that they do not miss someone in distress, for they are equipped and trained to help in such a way that would not endanger their own life or the lives of others. The more I learn about that, the more I am convinced that these statements and lessons can be carried on to the life of a disciple. When you’re trained, it is your responsibility, my responsibility to act.

Proverbs 3:27 Do not withhold good from those who deserve it when it is your power to act.

I look forward to the rest of this summer and the joys it may hold as well as the trials. This will no doubt be an interesting journey.
~Tori Lynn

One thought on “Observing with Vigilance

  1. abichica says:

    i look forward to reading about the journey as the summer continues!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

