Clues: A Discovery

A piece, a clue, a faint hint at what is to come..

When I write a story, pen to paper or my fingers running across keys, I am looking at things from new eyes. As if a curtain in my mind has been pulled back to reveal an entire universe, worlds and worlds of endless stories. But when I look through this window, I am simply aware that there are endless stories, though when I see through it, I only see one.

Depending on which story I see through this window, it truly is as if I have new eyes, as if I slip into the mind of my character and see their world as they see it. Their feelings are real, raw and untapped, this is where I begin, for I must capture these feelings as you or I would feel them, into words.

Other times, it is as if I am in the shadows, hiding under the boughs of a dark forest or in the depths of a cave simply observing how these characters react with each other, how their story progresses. Oftentimes, I am discovering their world at the same time as they are, for the first time. The amazement they feel when they step into an underground room dancing with surreal light, I feel the same surge of adrenaline and awe.

When I write their stories, it is not as if I am writing new events, causing them to happen, but recording what I have seen, what I have experienced, and what I have learned. Every step into the world, I see more of it, I come to understand the surroundings and the heart of the story.

In each case, as I see more and more into each story, it is as I said a discovery, as if I am coming across clue after clue, into a deeper and deeper understanding.. This is not only how I’ve come to write, but also to live, with each clue, a discovery.

~Tori Lynn

One thought on “Clues: A Discovery

  1. Sandra Ellis says:

    Your depth and writing never ceases to amaze me! You are truly gifted in so many ways. Love you, Nonny

Leave a Reply

