Back to Work

You know that feeling? When you were at the top of your game, basketball, swimming, baseball, running, parkour -anything, and you took a long break. Our reasons for taking a break may vary, mine were out of my control mostly, though I suppose I could’ve done a little bit more on my own. In any case, this past Monday I began the first part of lifeguard certification, or initiation, whichever you prefer to call it.

A while back, I was told about the lifeguard test, I’ve been considering this for more than a year, perhaps almost two even, I don’t know. Anyhow, at the time I was told, it seemed easy. The requirements seemed simple, physically, especially compared to what I used to do on the team, easy.

Monday, after that first 100, it no longer seemed easy.

My lungs were screaming at me, my arms and legs felt like rubber, and my eyes burned ever so slightly for not wearing goggles in the chlorine. Through each part of the test, my body protested even more, screamed that I couldn’t make it, told me to just stop already.

I pressed on. I’d faced these pains before, one year when I was still on the team, we took the winter off, that first practice of the following summer was awful.

In forty quick minutes, the test was over, I’d made it through the first part. Seemed like a lot longer than forty minutes. Over the past few days, I’ve thought about the first part of the test, there were a few ways to look at it.

My form was bad. I was sluggish. My breathing was awful.

I made it. I finished the first part. It’s over.

What’s next? I have three weekends left. It’s only beginning.

It’s worth it.

Sometimes things slow down a bit, sometimes it’s out of our hands, but we get ‘out of shape’ in dealing with certain things. Getting back to them can be difficult, especially since it’s never the same again. The game is bigger, the stakes are higher, but it’s still worth it. And sometimes, even when you feel new at it all over again, you’re still even stronger than you were before. And it’s worth it.

Most things that are worth it take work, no, it’s not all work. There will be those lovely moments, of course, but it takes work to get there, lots of it. Everything may be changes, but always remember what’s truly important, regardless…

1 Corinthians 13:13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

~Tori

One thought on “Back to Work

  1. Elaine Wiles says:

    It really is worth it, I was certified when I was eighteen and had never been on a swim team. I have no doubt you will make it. I did not ever have the opportunity to use it but it felt good knowing if I ever needed it………. My hardest part was bringing a 175lb. man to the edge of the pool when I only weighted 92 lbs………talk about tired and out of breathe! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

