Free to run

Quite some time ago, our family went to the beach and we took a boat out to Drum Inlet. I had not boated out to an island in ages, so the experience was a wonderful one, islands are so much more amazing to me than the overcrowded, overrated public beach accesses. Anyhow, my last moments on the island before the boat came back to take us inland, I ran.

I ran for what seemed like hours but couldn’t have been much more than twenty minutes. While I was running, wind whipped against my face and rushed through my hair, a song ran through my mind. A song I hadn’t heard in a while.

“Through You the blind will see
Through You the mute will sing
Through You the dead will rise
Through You all hearts will praise
Through You the darkness flees
Through You my heart screams, I am free!
I am free to run (echo) I am free to dance (echo) I am free to live for you (echo) I am free…”  (Free to run -Newsboys)

My heart shouted the words as I ran. A smile spread across my face and there it stayed.

I don’t know how long it’s been since that day, but I’ll never forget shouting to the oceans that I am free. Perhaps a couple weeks ago, I was talking to a friend of mine and he told me to read Galatains 5 in reference to something we had been talking about. I would suggest reading it as well, I consumed every word multiple times, reading it as often as I remember to. But a piece of it stuck out to me, especially.

“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” If you bite and devour each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.” Galatians 5:13-15

I’ve always heard “Love your neighbor as yourself” and I’m certain I’ve read this passage more times than I can count, but it stuck out very much to me, awoke a passion within me. “Serve one another humbly in love” “If you bite and devour each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.”

“For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command…” The entire law. In love. Why else would the word love be so corrupted nowadays? Why is it the very thing that many don’t believe in? Why is it, that so many don’t even know how to love? Perhaps, because it’s the greatest thing we have.

There is so much in this passage, so much truth. If we could only learn, that this is why we are free. As in verse one,

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”

Strive then, to live your life in such a way, such a way that when people look at you, they see Love. They see Christ. Living your life in this way, you will change the world. This is my goal. <4

“You were running a good race. Who cut in on you to keep you from obeying the truth?” (Galatians 5:7)

This, is what I desired to say to you all today.

~Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

