I Hate Goodbyes

Today my sister moved away. Not blood related, but my prayer sister, and well, she’s become like my big sister in many ways.

Our story began back I suppose a year and a half ago in something called Girls of Grace. We carpooled a lot back then and our group leaders assigned us as “prayer sisters” in order to be there for each other and pray for anything we need. We exchanged sheets of information so we could get to know each other better and started talking more, we sat together back when there was an option not to and got each other small gifts every now and then. Thus was our assignment and after time we began doing it on our own long after GOG dissolved. I was the shy girl with no friends to fall back on, and she changed that. We weren’t BEST friends, we didn’t spend every waking moment with or talking to each other, but I trusted her. She was the first person who I ever told about a guy I liked and she stood by me through everything. During my hardest times she was always one of the first ones to seek me out. When I was too shy to do anything, she drug me out of the crowd.

I can say that if it weren’t for her, I would’ve never joined production team, I would’ve never started Angelfood, and I certainly would’ve never gotten to where I am now. All that planning and prodding finally paid off and we got to hang out. She was one of the first people I could ever look up to, I could tell her anything and she wouldn’t think I was some mental creep, and she wouldn’t pry TOO hard if there was something I didn’t want to tell her. Maybe you’ve always had friends like that, but this was new to me.

We never really had OUR sleepover, but I suppose we never will. Some things we never had I suppose we never will.

From helping me in Costa Rica, to encouraging me to get on stage, all the way to helping me recover from the loss of the “Pearl”, God certainly blessed me with you. Even though you’ve moved, it’s not over, our story doesn’t end here. I love you sis, and I will continue to pray for you every day, I know I can still come to you, and I hope you know you can still come to me.

I’ve always looked up to her, and though we haven’t always been as close as we possibly could’ve, I’ve always known that God blessed me with just what I needed. Thank you for all that you’ve been and are sis, and while we have to say goodbye, I know it doesn’t end here.

Last night when I hugged her for the last time for now, when the tears sneaked out again, I knew I had to let her go. I love you Sam, and you’re right, it’s going to be alright.

For anyone who has to let people go, just know that the distance doesn’t have to separate you, it can draw you closer. It’s going to be alright. God doesn’t “pull” people out of your life as some like to claim, no, they are lead elsewhere, but you are never left alone in a situation you cannot face. He will provide, just don’t limit His ways.

I wrote this the day you left, but I couldn’t bring myself to post it until now. Stay safe sis. <4

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn.

Leave a Reply

