The Confusion Factor

In a battle of truth, there’s two sides, right? There’s good and there’s evil. If truth and only truth were presented in court, there wouldn’t be a need for a jury. If truth were presented as truth, and anything untrue wasn’t presented, then there would be no need to question the truth. Faith would come easy because truth is all we’ve ever known. Why would you doubt something that you have never questioned? It would be like saying; “I wonder if I really have a mouth, or if the mirror is simply my eyes playing tricks on me…” We have no reason to doubt we have mouths, we’ve always had one, everyone around us has one, we can touch it, speak with it, if you look down your nose enough to get a headache you can see it, but it has never been challenged. No one has given us the smooth words to force us to believe that we might not have a mouth.

Try something more complex, all my life I was told my eyes were blue. Up until recently, anyway. Our family has a lot of people with “changing eyes” that appear blue some days and green others. I always decided I wanted to be ‘numb’ to this trait and keep my blue eyes. I was certain my eyes were blue, until one day someone told me I had pretty green eyes. It shell-shocked me, the compliment wasn’t lost, but I ran to the nearest mirror to check on them. Sure enough, they looked green. But a couple weeks later someone mentioned them being blue. It freaked me out. It appears that they’ve been/are green with a tint of blue for good now, but I never know without looking in a mirror or asking someone, I no longer can be certain that they are indeed green. I don’t even know if they were ever blue or if I just saw them that way because I was always told they were.

Then there’s relationships. I’m referring to friendships, the real ones. Say, you’ve been told they’re all fake. So what’re you gonna do? You’re gonna be a fake so they won’t hurt you. Say, you believe the world hates you, so in essence, you begin to hate the world back. Then, someone shows you love, real love, they do something for you that you would’ve never done for them. They reach out to you. So you’re theory is blown. In essence, now there’s the truth and the lie. The lie is that the world hates you and everyone is fake, the truth is, they’re not all the same. Then someone hurts you. The world begins to twist before your eyes. But yet, they say they love you. What’s truth? How can we know the truth? Jealousy kills hope and causes even more confusion and now you can’t even see clearly. What can be done? What is truth?

He is the truth. Without depending fully on him, we get stuck on confusion.

Proverbs 3:5-7  Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
Run to God! Run from evil!

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn.

Leave a Reply

