Dreaming eyes

So yesterday I began reading “The adventures of Tom Sawyer”. It’s a pretty good book, don’t know why I hadn’t read it before now, but that’s beside the point. Along with that I watched Julian Smith’s newest video “Racist coffee” and read Adam Young’s latest blog. All these things bring ONE specific thing to mind.

Dreams

We all have them, some of us believe in them more than others and sometimes that becomes a problem. In the mind of a dreamer, there is a slight naivety, we visualize things as we one day plan them to be, so that we forget that none other see them that way. We also tend to lose things we care about dearly due to our built in optimistic nature that we can’t lose anything. There is something our generation has lost, though we have more opportunity than past ones, and that is accomplishing our dreams. Everywhere we turn we hear “you can do anything” but as I recall it’s not quite said that way. “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” sounds a bit more accurate.

Either way, with all this talk of I can do anything and the average person doing quite close to nothing, we begin to doubt anything we’re told is true. Therefore many of us just sit back and watch others get exactly what we wanted, we watch other people take flight with ideas that our minds conceived but thought foolish until we saw this other said person use them. This is the common reality of watching out beloved dreams fail us.

I watch people like Adam Young and Julian Smith, heroes in my eyes, follow their dreams from the wishes of their youth. Watching dreams become a reality, doing things that have never been done before, tis an amazing thing. I must admit, I’ve let much too many of my dreams slide away, but I intent on carrying them through, only with His guidance. I’m not about to be another “average” person.

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn.

Leave a Reply

