Up to you now….

You stand there, wipe the sweat of your forehead as you watch them run. They’ve given up on taking  you but you know they’re coming back. You put your sword back in it’s sheath and move on. Turning around you see them whispering to one close to you. You fight some of them away, but they keep coming back. You begin to feel helpless, hopeless, then you see the one close to you begin to fight them off, you throw them a weapon, all they have to do to stop them all is activate it. You tell them that, you plead to them, but they begin to like the power they’re receiving. You’re almost screaming now, the one close to you can no longer hear your pleas, you can no longer see them. You whisper under your breath, “it’s up to you now.” Breathing your last hopeful words into the unseen battle, you scream at the top of your lungs, “Live free or let me die”.

Live free or let me die ~Skillet

“Death until the dust, and we’re waiting
Ruined in the rust, of our craving
It feels like, it feels like
Don’t you know the cost, of your betrayal?
You’re the one that’s lost, you’re gonna fail
It feels like, it feels like you’re gasping with all your might

You can’t take away my strength
Fix these broken veins
There’s nothing left to fight (Live free or let me die)
You can’t take away my pride, I won’t be denied
There’s nothing left to fight (Live free or let me die)

Insects walk below, I’m on a wire
Fire will burn below, but I am higher
It feels like, it feels like
Don’t you know the cost, of your betrayal?
You’re the one that’s lost, you’re gonna fail
It feels like, it feels like you’re gasping with all your might

You can’t take away my strength
Fix these broken veins
There’s nothing left to fight (Live free or let me die)
You can’t take away my pride, I won’t be denied
There’s nothing left to fight (Live free or let me die)

Do you remember how
You became who you are now?
Do you remember how
It felt to breathe without
Gasping with all your might?

You can’t take away my strength
Fix these broken veins
Nothing left to fight

You can’t take away my strength
Fix these broken veins
There’s nothing left to fight (Live free or let me die)
You can’t take away my pride, I won’t be denied
There’s nothing left to fight
Nothing left to fight (Nothing left to fight)
Live free or let me die
Live free or let me die
Live free or let me die”

This is for any of you who have faced this battle or have yet to face it. Don’t give up, remember what it feels like to breath without gasping with all your might. No matter which side you’re on, if you’re the one holding the sword, if you’re the one who’s lost sight, don’t give up, you’l make it through.

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn.

Leave a Reply

