You don’t own me

I just have to point this out to you guys, I absolutely LOVE this song, it’s like my life, well allot of songs are, but i love it. It’s called Dear X (you don’t own me) by Disciple (an amazing band btw) After reading the lyrics go look the song up and listen to it.

Dear pain, oh, it’s been a long time
Remember when you were holding me tight
I would stay awake with you all night
Dear shame, I was safe in your arms
You were there when it all fell apart
I would get so lost in your beautiful lies

I let you go
But you’re still chasing

Go ahead, you’re never gonna take me
You can bend, but you’re never gonna break me
I was yours; I’m not yours anymore
Oh, you don’t own me

Dear hate, I know you’re not far
You would wait at the door of my heart
I was amazed at the passion in your cries
Dear anger, you make me so high
You were faithful to show up on time
Such a flame that was burning in your eyes

I let you go
But you’re still chasing

Go ahead, you’re never gonna take me
You can bend, but you’re never gonna break me
I was yours; I’m not yours anymore
Oh, you don’t own me
Go ahead, put a target on my forehead
You can fire, but you got no bullets
I was yours; I’m not yours anymore
Oh, you don’t own me

It’s tempting me to look back
But everything that we had together was a lie

Go ahead, you’re never gonna take me
You can bend, but you’re never gonna break me
I was yours; I’m not yours anymore
Oh, you don’t own me
Go ahead, put a target on my forehead
You can fire, but you got no bullets
I was yours; I’m not yours anymore
Oh, you don’t own me

Don’t let X own you, what or whoever your X is, it has no power over you anymore. Don’t let it lie to you anymore, you are new and nothing can stop you if God’s on your side. <4

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn

Leave a Reply

