The air I breath

Have you ever taken a second to realize the air you are breathing hasn’t always been there? God created it just like he created you. We tend to take everything we have for granted, and when I say everything I mean it. Not only do we take our environment for granted, but everything in it. Blessings, friends, unexpected surprises,  health, and those people in our lives we just can’t seem to live without. Have you ever thanked God for any of this??? I’m not trying to judge you, as you should know by now, I’ve done this myself or I wouldn’t be writing about it.  When’s the last time you told those people how much they mean to you? When is the last time you unexpectedly surprised them? Now I must point out, some people are much harder to surprise.  (Not me of course ;)) but that only means more when you try. What about the last time you thanked God for someone who means allot in your life? Don’t you like it when somebody thanks you for a gift you worked extra hard to give them? Considering we were created in His image, He does too.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes the best most amazing parts of my life get neglected because I assume they’l always be there. Well guess what? I was wrong. I’ve almost lost a few of them because of thinking like that, in fact I have lost a few. It’s an easy thing to assume someone will always be a part of your life and it’s equally as easy to assume they know how much you mean to them. But both can be fatal to your relationship with them. Did you ever stop to think that even though God will never leave you, sometimes He feels rejected by you?

Take every day into count, don’t let to long go by without telling someone you care about how much they mean to you. Don’t forget to tell God how much he means to you.

Take a breather, walk outside for a second, look around, what do you see? What one would say to such a question can expose many details of one’s personality, but thats an analogy for a different post. Now think for a minute, what’s your favorite part of what you see? You got it? Ok, now imagine if that was gone. Not half as good a sight anymore now is it?

Now think about your life, take your favorite part of it. Think of all the good times you’ve had with/surrounding/in that part of your life. Now, imagine if that part of your life was gone. What would you do? Yesterday Jared Williams was killed in a car accident. I didn’t know him that well, in fact I barely knew him. But his death still affected me, but not on anywhere near a scale as it did to his close friends. Can you imagine the pain of losing someone that close to you? I’m sure Jared is in Heaven now chilling with Jesus, but that doesn’t mean he won’t be missed by those who cared about him. I’m sure some even wished they’d had a different last memory with him.

Now take a moment and examine your life. If this was your last moment on this earth, would you be satisfied with the mark you’ve left? How differently would you live your life if you knew you only had a year left? I’ve wondered what it would be like if we knew when and how we would all leave this earth, but I believe there is a reason (if not more than one) why we don’t know. Not only would we alter that moment, but we would try to plan our lives up till that very moment, and as one can see from everyday life, we aren’t very good planners.

After taking all this into consideration, one would seem to realize how important every aspect of our very life is. Also you’d hope one would take this into consideration and no longer neglect certain areas anymore.  But we are not perfect, so most likely things will still go neglected, but there is a slight shred of hope that this post might have helped someone grasp onto a part of their life before it slipped through the very fingers that once grasped it tightly, regain your grasp.

Live long and prosper, Tori.

Leave a Reply

