Why not?

So the other day I was trying to find something new, I’ve found that I (apparently) can write, but writing comes with inspiration, you can’t just sit there and write random things down on a piece of paper and hope to get anywhere unless you’re just making graphics. But pencils and paper can make more than just words, they can make images, either familiar ones, or create something completely new. So I tried drawing, epic fail. I had no idea what I was doing and I was just bored out of my mind.

So a few days later I was working on my book, mainly character development, and I had this thought “wouldn’t my characters be more real if i could see them?” So I decided I wanted someone to draw them out. But after a while I realized nobody else would care about my characters as much as I, so how would they convey them with as much care? So it was settled, I had to draw them myself. After several attempts I realized that realistic portraits  weren’t going to work, not yet anyway. So what’s left? After looking through the options I decided I would finally attempt to draw anime. I’ve always wanted to as long as I can remember but never would at the high chance I would fail miserably.

So yes I attempted it, my first 2 tries completed., although I don’t know how good they are 😛 One cannot measure their own work successfully unless they themselves are perfect, making God the only one who can do that. Although I’m not sure if it’s any good or if it ever will be, I do know one thing. I tried something I’d never done before and enjoyed it. Eventually I’d like to ya know actually make some decent drawings, but I’ve got a start and I’m learning. So if you’re considering trying something like that, why not? I mean the worse that could happen is you fail and we already do that, so why not fail because we tried instead of wondering what it would be like to succeed.

Live long and prosper, Tori Lynn.

One thought on “Why not?

  1. mom says:

    Your drawings were really good! You are too hard on yourself….
    Remember, you can do anything you put your mind to!

Leave a Reply

