Overcoming

So I’ve always had this fear inside of me of speaking in front of people, on a stage, with a mic. Well over the last several years I never had a reason to get over it. I never had to speak, I never had any desire to, that was the end of it (I thought). So late last year I did it for the first time when Aaron Brown asked me if I would speak for tithes and offerings. So without thinking (thats VERY rare for me if you know me) I replied and said I would. That Wednesday, I freaked out. I had never even used a microphone before. So that night I got up and spoke, no big deal right? haha not for me, it was a big deal, i was crazy nervous but I managed to speak without messing up. Then a couple of days ago AB asked the LA’s who was willing to speak for T & O this week. For a while I didn’t respond, I mean I’m not the only LA, I still am not that out there enough to speak, and also I’m tired so why should I add something else to what I’m already thinking about? But after a while I realized those were all excuses and I went ahead and told him I’d do it.

So everything’s cool then? Not really, I starting freaking out again, I had no idea what I was gonna speak about, and guess what? Tuesday I completely lost my voice for a good 2 hours. I still today don’t have it back completely but it was normal enough that it didn’t sound weird anymore. So in my quiet time I was trying to figure out what I would speak on and I for some reason I can’t even remember now I flipped to Galations 6:7-8 (Don’t be misled: No one makes a fool of God. What a person plants, he will harvest. The person who plants selfishness, ignoring the needs of others—ignoring God!—harvests a crop of weeds. All he’ll have to show for his life is weeds! But the one who plants in response to God, letting God’s Spirit do the growth work in him, harvests a crop of real life, eternal life.) and Mark 6:14 (If you forgive others for the wrongs they do to you, your Father in heaven will forgive you.)

And it linked, you reap what you sow, if it’s money, trust, friendship, forgiveness, kindness, anything!

So it came time to go, and I almost stopped breathing for a second. I wasn’t ready, well I was but I didn’t wanna be. So I calmed myself and got there. So The service was amazing!!! I absolutely looove my youth pastor 🙂 ❤ and then after Pastor Tammy finished speaking, AB got up and announced for me to come and do tithes and offerings. All of a sudden all that fear I’d been dealing with vanished and I walked up to the stage. I’d been praying all day for God to help me overcome my fear, and He did!

So never underestimate the power of asking God to help you. He cares about your life and he doesn’t want you to be afraid, ever. So here’s my challenge, whatever you’re afraid of, ask God to help you overcome it.

Live long and prosper, Tori.

Leave a Reply

