Skillet to Life (application)

So I went a little Skillet crazy but they have some of the best lyrics I’ve heard, like ever. I’ve found it very easy to relate a message to their lyrics and these are just a few of them. (PS for those of you who somehow don’t know who Skillet is, they are one of the best Christian rock bands ever! If you want more details go to someone like Blake who is a panhead.)

~Say Goodbye~

Things are changing~It seems strange and~I need to figure this out~You’ve got your life~I got mine~But you’re all I cared about~Yesterday we were laughing~Today I’m left here asking~Where has all the time gone now~I’m left alone somehow~Growing up and getting older~I don’t want to believe it’s over~Don’t say goodbye~Cause I don’t wanna hear those words tonight~Cause maybe it’s not the end for you and I~And although we knew~This time would come for me and you~Don’t say anything tonight~If you’re gonna say goodbye

This song has so much meaning and is easy to relate to when friendships start breaking, you don’t want to let go but you feel helpless. I could go on about this song, but I think I’m gonna let the you decide it’s personal meaning…

~The Last Night~

This is the last night you’ll spend alone~Look me in the eyes so I know you know~I’m everywhere you want me to be.
The last night you’ll spend alone,~I’ll wrap you in my arms and I won’t let go,~I’m everything you need me to be.

I know this is just the chorus, but if you take this part you can see more than one meaning. The full lyrics are more about someone who is cutting or about to commit suicide. But you can take it even on a lower level. Basically saying that no matter what you go through, I’m gonna be there for you. And I want you to know that. Thats one of the things I love about this song. Thats exactly how I feel when any of my friends/family is are going through something tough. I want to let you know that I’m there if you believe me or not, but I can’t be there if you don’t tell me where to be so look me in the eyes when I say I’ll be there for you.

~Those Nights~

I remember when ~We used to laugh ~About nothing at all ~It was better than going mad ~From trying to solve all the problems we’re going through ~Forget ’em all ~Cause on those nights we would stand and never fall ~Together we faced it all ~Remember when we’d ~Stay up late and we’d talk all night ~In a dark room lit by the tv light ~Through all the hard times in my life ~Those nights kept me alive ~We’d listen to the radio play all night ~Didn’t want to go home to another fight ~Through all the hard times in my life ~Those nights kept me alive

This song has many meanings, but I’m gonna stick with this one for now. When you’re going through stuff in your life, sometimes it’s best to just temporarily forget them and have fun with your friends, create memories, or maybe just remember the ones you already have. No matter what happens in your life, those memories will still be there. I don’t know about you, but it’s very easy for me to remember moments. It helps, and sometimes you just need to talk to one of your best friends, or just laugh about the stupidest things (I do that allot haha)

~Yours To Hold~

Every single day~I find it hard to say~I could be yours alone~You will see someday~That all along the way~I was yours to hold~I was yours to hold~I see you walking by~Your hair always hiding your face~I wonder why you’ve been hurting~I wish I had some way to say~You’re going through so much~Don’t you know that I will be the one to hold you~I’m stretching but you’re just out of reach~You should know~I’m ready when you’re ready for me~And I’m waiting for the right time~For the day I catch your eye~To let you know~That I’m yours to hold

Yet another one I love, I don’t even have to explain it…

~Awake and Alive~

I’m at war with the world and they~Try to pull me into the dark~I struggle to find my faith~As I’m slippin’ from your arms~It’s getting harder to stay awake~And my strength is fading fast~You breathe into me at last~I’m awake I’m alive
Now I know what I believe inside~Now it’s my time~I’ll do what I want ’cause this is my life~here, right now~I’ll stand my ground and never back down~I know what I believe inside~I’m awake and I’m alive

This ones more about struggling against the world but hanging on to God. It’s something in my life that is fairly relevant, when stress builds up it’s easy to lose my focus, but then God breaths life back into me and well, I’m awake and alive.

~Hero~

I’m just a step away~I’m just a breath away~Losing my faith today~Falling off the edge today~I am just a man~Not superhuman~I’m not superhuman~Someone save me from the hate~It’s just another war~Just another family torn
Falling from my faith today~Just a step from the edge~Just another day in the world we live~I need a hero to save me now~I need a hero, save me now~I need a hero to save my life~A hero will save me just in time

Sometimes again this ones similar to the one I just showed you, but I looove this also more than that it has memories attached to it haha… But God is our hero, He’s there just in time for us when we are ready to fall of the edge.

Sorry if I’ve bored you with lyrics and such, but this means allot. Sometimes when words can’t seem to explain things, music can. Hope you enjoyed this anyway, thanks for reading!

Live long and prosper, Tori.

Leave a Reply

