Mistaken

Sometimes in life, we make mistakes… <— that, is a major understatement.

When you make a huge mistake, most of the time it feels like nobody could possibly forgive you. You feel worthless, like you just threw your life away and it’l never come back. You most likely will feel stupid, and beat yourself up about it.

Well there is something you need to know. God will forgive you, over and over and over again, no matter what you do He will wipe your slate clean. Some people say He is the God of second chances, but no He’s not. We’d be in a mess if He was the God of second chances, because we used our second chance a looooong time ago. He is the God of ANOTHER chance. No matter what you do, He forgives you.

On the other hand, there is us. You know, your friends, family, and those people who just happen to be in your life… Well, unlike our creator, they aren’t as quick to forgive us, especially to trust us. Trust is a thing earned and when it’s broken it can take some time to rebuild.

There’s these songs I was listening to the other day, that reminded me of this, here’s some of the lyrics:

Who I am Hates Who I’ve Been ~ Relient K

This is no place to try and live my life.

Stop right there. That’s exactly where I lost it.
See that line. Well I never should have crossed it.
Stop right there. Well I never should have said
that it’s the very moment that
I wish that I could take back.

I’m sorry for the person I became.
I’m sorry that it took so long for me to change.
I’m ready to try and never become that way again
’cause who I am hates who I’ve been.
Who I am hates who I’ve been.

You can still come back ~ KJ-52

So you thinking you far you thinking it’s hard
You thinking your scarred
Now you thinking you’d call but thinking that God
He would put up a wall
Don’t think that all cause the big and the small
He’s there for us y’all
Right there if you fall he’s there with his arms
So hear him when he calls saying..

Anyplace that you are you can still come back
You aint never too far you can still come back
All you gotta do is call you can still come back
Even if it seems hard you can still come back

Apologize ~ OneRepublic

I’d take another chance,

Take a fall, take a shot for you.
I need you like a heart needs a beat,
But it’s nothin’ new.
I loved you with a fire red,
Now it’s turnin’ blue…
And you say…
Sorry, like an angel
Heaven let me think was you…
But I’m afraid…

It’s too late to apologize.
It’s too late.
I said it’s too late to apologize.
It’s too late.

Now most likely you’ve felt like at least one of these at some point in your life. Just remember, even if it seems like people can’t forgive you, God already did, in fact he died to take that sin away from you. You’ve received His forgiveness at the price of Jesus’ death. But there is also a price you must pay to earn the forgiveness of others.

1. True Regret

  • If you’re not really sorry, it’s easy to tell

2. Make it up to them

  • Anything you can do for them, it wasn’t fun for them to go through all this

3. Give them some space

  • Don’t stay all in their face, and don’t expect them to want to come and talk to you right now, give them time to think and pray (but don’t avoid/hide from them either)

4. Trust must be earned

  • When you say I won’t do it again, mean it, and also you have to prove it

Psalm 46:1 God is a safe place to hide, ready to help when we need Him. We stand fearless at the cliff-edge of doom,
courageous in seastorm and earthquake,

God is a safe place to hide, ready to help when we need Him. How true is that? God is always there when we need Him.

Matthew 6:14 If you forgive others for the wrongs they do to you, your Father in heaven will forgive you.

Look back at your life, if you’re asking for forgiveness, who have you not forgiven? Maybe even someone who wronged you years ago that you still hold a grudge against.

1 Peter 5:7 God cares for you, so turn all your worries over to him.

God is there like your best friend, ready to listen to all your problems and help you.

Hebrews 13:6 God is there, ready to help; I’m fearless no matter what. Who or what can get to me?

Romans 4:7-8 “Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sins are put out of sight. Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of sin.”

Ephesians 4:32 Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk. Be gentle with one another, sensitive. Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.

When you’re having trouble forgiving someone, remember, Jesus gave His life to forgive you of all you sins, future, past and present. Doesn’t He deserve you to forgive them too?

Remember forgiveness and trust are not the same thing. The Bible says to forgive those who hurt you, but it never says you have to trust them. Let trust be earned. And if you’re the one earning it, don’t expect to be trusted right away. If you do anyway, “Get used to disappointment”.

Trust is like bullet proof glass. Once you earn it and put up the window, it take more than one bullet to shatter it. But once it’s shattered, you can’t expect to put the broken pieces back up, you must do the work to install a new window aka a new trust.

No matter which side your on, I hope this helps, I’m not perfect either and I’m still learning this myself. So yeah,

Live long and prosper, Tori.

Leave a Reply

